Was It Really Cake to the Rescue? It Sure Was!

Cake 2 The Rescue Cake Kit | www.smallfavours.com.auOn the 10th of November our little “spirited” Isabell turned 4 and seeing we were moving into our new house not long after her birthday, we had a little party for her a week early.  To help alleviate stress on me (because lets face it, mums generally do all the Birthday organising) we only had a small party with her closest friends and grandparents. I always feel a little pressure throwing Izzy parties considering I run a party supply business, however this is the second year it has fallen during a busy time of moving house (we moved into a rental last year after selling our house) and once again I had to keep it simple and easy and fortunately seeing she is still little I could probably really get away with just a cake, balloon and a present!

I really wanted to make a cake as I had done in previous years, and while I am no master chef I do enjoying trying I was worried about the added stress of making something that turned out horrible.

Owl Birthday Cake | www.smallfavours.com.au

Birthday Cake | www.smallfavours.com.au

Birthday Cake | www.smallfavours.com.auLuckily for me I had come across a company on Facebook called Cake 2 The Rescue. They had great designs that I knew my pink princess, fairy, glitter loving daughter would go crazy for and you got everything you needed delivered to your door to create an awesome cake with ease.

So I ordered one, after being undecided for a few days I gave the honour to Izzy herself who promptly chose (you guessed it!) a pink fairy princess cake. It was a bit pricey $52.45 + post but considering what I would spend finding all the fondant, decorations and ingredients by themselves and the hassle of going to the shops, I decided it would be worth it.

So it arrived and the cake making extravaganza began…….

The Kit included everything you see here, and had very clear and easy to understand instructions. I truly believe even someone with limited baking experience could easily make these cakes. I made my cake (and decorated) the day before the party and it stayed nice and fresh. I especially liked the throw away cake tin to save on washing up!

Cake 2 The Rescue Cake Kit | www.smallfavours.com.au

I had the Birthday Girl help me with making the cake base (which she throughly enjoyed, although I wish I had asked her to take the Frozen dress off first as it got a bit messy) and then I sent her out into the pool for the afternoon with her Dadda while I did the pretty decorations so she would get more of a surprise on the day.

Cake 2 The Rescue Cake Kit | www.smallfavours.com.au

My cake was, as always, high on the top and I just followed directions on how to cut it off neatly to get a flat surface to start icing.

Cake 2 The Rescue Cake Kit | www.smallfavours.com.au

Next you got the template and cut around the cake.

Cake 2 The Rescue Cake Kit | www.smallfavours.com.auThen a great trick they gave you was make sure your spatula/flat knife is dipped in hot water first to help ice the cake smoothly.

Cake 2 The Rescue Cake Kit | www.smallfavours.com.au

Then once iced it is time to start with the fondant. I have never used it before and was a little concerned when it started getting very sticky and melted in our very hot and humid weather. I ended up turning on the Air Con and adding a little more icing sugar as they suggested and it was all good.

Cake 2 The Rescue Cake Kit | www.smallfavours.com.au

My confidence grew as I complete more and if I made a mistake, I either took it off and started again or just said…..Does it really matter, will anyone even notice?

Cake 2 The Rescue Cake Kit | www.smallfavours.com.au

Then after about 1 hour of decorating I was finally finished and so pleased with the results.

Cake 2 The Rescue Cake Kit | www.smallfavours.com.au

Gotta love a four year old’s fake smile for the camera face!!

Cake 2 The Rescue Cake Kit | www.smallfavours.com.au

And it was worth the effort when she thanked me (and still talks about her pink fairy princess cake). Remember they won’t care if it is perfect, they just love you for making it.

Cake 2 The Rescue Cake Kit | www.smallfavours.com.au

To sum up, I was very happy with the Cake 2 The Rescue kit and will definitely make another one next year. I might even try one of the harder designs!

Have you ever made a cake kit? Would love to see photos or hear any stories.

blog signature

Leave a Reply

