No Bake Carrot Cake Balls (but don’t forget the Cinnamon!)



Yummy Healthy No Bake Carrot Cake Balls |www.smallfavours.com.au

I recently got some really cute little card treat trays from my supplier and wanted an alternative to a rich truffle to put in them for kids parties and I came across a great recipe from Essential Kids that I thought I would try.  Anything that states “No Bake” always catches my eye, especially in this rental property that has an oven that does not believe in maintaining temperature.  I cannot wait until we move (around 2 weeks) into our new house we are building and into that beautiful kitchen I have spent many months planning and dreaming about!

Here are some update photos for those that love seeing half installed kitchens……

Anyway I digress, I found this recipe really easy to make and the only thing I had to purchase were the almonds (of which I bought a packet that was too small!), the rest I had in my pantry. My nearly four year old, Isabell assisted and she really enjoyed rolling the “sticky balls” in the coconut.  However like always having her involved did cause me to get sidetracked and I did forget to add the Cinnamon but they still tasted great. Printable recipe is available at the end of this post.

Gather your ingredients, now I got caught out on the almonds as only had one cup but it did not seem to matter. I also only had desiccated coconut and that also did not seem to pose a problem.

No Bake Carrot Cake Balls

Place all ingredients in a food processor and blend for a few minutes to mixed.  Check out my 14 year old Braun processor…it is still going!

No Bake Carrot Cake Balls

Then pulse until final consistency is reached. I wish I had done it a little bit more as there were still a few chunks of almonds that Izzy did not like. (She has a real texture issue with foods!)

No Bake Carrot Cake Balls

Once consistency is right take even amounts (I used two scoops of my little scoop to keep it even) and then roll into balls.

No Bake Carrot Cake Balls

Roll into the desiccated coconut until fully covered (little ones especially love doing this part and you just have to ignore the mess!)

No Bake Carrot Cake Balls

Then place in tray into the fridge until set then pop into air tight container to store in fridge.

No Bake Carrot Cake Balls

 

NO BAKE CARROT CAKE BALLS

Credit: Essential Kids

Ingredients:

2 cups almonds

2 cups dates (pitted)

3/4 cup dried pineapple

3/4 cup coconut flakes (I only had desiccated)

1/2 cup grated carrot (firmly packed)

1 tbsp cinnamon

1/4 cup desiccated coconut for rolling

Method:

1. In a food processor add all ingredients and process for a few minutes, scrape down sides and pulse again. Do this a couple of times until the mixture is soft and sticks together. Be sure not to over process as the oil will be released from the almonds. You want it to be sticky enough to shape into balls but not too sticky that it won’t set. To check the mixture is correct, pick up a handful and squeeze it in your hand. Once it easily forms a ball it is ready.

2. Using a generous tablespoon of mixture form into a ball, then roll in the desiccated coconut.

3. Place in the fridge in an airtight container for 2 hours to set.

NOTE: These balls are best stored in the fridge and you can freeze them as well. They don’t take long to defrost, just take them out half an hour before you want to eat them.

If you love the little treat trays in Frozen and Peppa Pig, then check them out here on Small Favours website.

Frozen Mini Treat Tray | www.smallfavours.com.au

Peppa Pig Mini Treat Tray | www.smallfavours.com.au

blog signature

Leave a Reply

