I’m Back!!!

I'm Back!Well it has been a while, around a year to be honest,  since I have done a blog post and I must admit I was shocked (and embarrassed) at how long it had actually been.  This blog was to work hand in hand with my new business Small Favours and when I started out I had grand ideas of posting interesting party themed ideas and inspiration and tidbits about our life and family. So what happened?

To start with, creating a new business from scratch at home with a very lively then 2/3 year old was a lot harder than I ever imagined. I am used to working a 9 – 5 job in accounting/office management and always got my days work done with little to no interruptions. I loved sitting at my desk and ticking my to do list off one by one, stopping for a lunch break and having a chat with co-workers. I quickly found out that returning to work and doing it from home was vastly different.  I envisioned getting work done while Izzy slept or played and then doing some more at night when she was sleeping. Of course none of that happened and I discovered that during those precious times she was asleep I had other pressing things to do like cook, clean, return phone calls, pay bills, do bookwork for our main business and at some point eat lunch!

Laundry Pile

Laundry Pile

Laundry Helper?

Laundry Helper?

Business Launch

Business Launch

So I realised early on that I had to do things slow and steady and not expect too much in my first year of operating. As such the first thing I had to drop was the blog. A blog is very time consuming as you have to constantly have new ideas, match themes with my business status, type and edit the post and of course remember to do it all regularly. As such I have concentrated on getting my new business off the ground and introducing new products, building a customer base and finding new suppliers.   A few other things have happened in the year as well including…..

Izzy is now nearly four (Nov)

She gets her style from her dad!

She gets her style from her dad!

We sold our third house and moved into rental

Sold House

Sold house

Moved for around the 32nd time in my life!

Moved for around the 32nd time in my life!

We finally purchased some land 2.5acres in a great spot near Noosa and designed our house and starting building again for the fourth time!!

Bought Land

Bought Land

Got site ready to build

Got site ready to build

Started Building and scooting!

Started Building and scooting!

Contemplating the build

Contemplating the build

10620675_10204874854808763_2245945820206662693_n

Painting starting

10690176_10204874722925466_5380059959332775688_n

In love with the colour of the wall I have chosen xx

10659326_10204905625298006_3342916251951619284_n

Kitchen starting to go in.

10672294_10204905596337282_2421830415431878292_n

Isabell helping with the sink installation!

 

So I certainly have not been sitting on my hands! We are looking forward to moving into our new home around end of Oct/Early November and enjoying a quiet Christmas at home doing landscaping. Would you believe we have built four times and each time we end up moving end of year and landscaping in the humidity of a Queensland summer. Perhaps we should plan a bit better next time (trust me there will not be a next time if I have anything to do with it!)

I look forward to adding more posts in the coming months and will do my best to be more regular.

blog signature

 

Leave a Reply

