To plan or not to plan..why should you plan your next birthday party?

To plan or not to plan | www.smallfavours.com.au

Most people would describe me as reasonably organised (my nickname at an old workplace was Bree Van Der Kamp from Desperate Housewives as I liked to keep my stationary draw very organised!) so I am in favour of planning my daughters parties, however I do it more of a way of getting thoughts out of my mind so I can sleep at night rather than do it to be super organised! So is it worth planning or do you just wing it?

Party Planning Ideas

Yes I even have folders on my computer!

So why plan a party you may ask?  I like to plan as it allows me to enjoy the day more knowing I have covered everything and to ensure I don’t waste money on impulse buys that I don’t need or end up using.  For example I have a plastic box full of party items such as plastic plates, bowls, cups, streamers, balloons etc that are left over from the last year and normally I have more than enough to do the next years party, however if I did keep it all together I would most likely go back out and buy more that I don’t need. I also like to just buy white so I can use them every year.

Party Planning

Throw everything in a box to keep it all together

Do I need a theme?  It is totally up to you. I find a theme helps pull it all together and give you some guidance on what you need to buy and make, however it does not have to be over the top theme like you see on Pinterest……

This party took some serious planning!

This party took some serious planning!

It can be as simple as choosing something like a colour, their favourite toy or animal and just go from there. Have a look at our Pinterest boards for inspiration and ideas. For my daughters first birthday I decided on Owls. She had been given a few stuffed owls when she was born, there were owls on her bedroom wall and there was an abundance of items available to purchase.

Party Planning, Kids party, Birthday Cake, Owl Birthday Cake

Owl Birthday Cake, click on photo to go to link for a great tutorial on how to make it yourself!

Birthday Party planning, decorations

Simple Decoration – Showing the months of her first year.

Invitation Made using a trial version of Photoshop Elements 10 before I purchased the full copy and have never looked back!

Invitation Made using a trial version of Photoshop Elements 10 before I purchased the full copy and have never looked back!

Party Favours, Birthday Party Planning

Homemade Owl Biscuts for favours…before I created Small Favours and had cool stuff to choose from!

For her second birthday I chose Rainbow as the theme, which really meant choose colourful things and keep it bright and fun. This theme is really easy especially if you have mixed boys and girls at the party as pink can be a bit overwhelming at times. The party was supposed to be at a park but no amount of planning can help a rainy day so we moved it inside and it was still a fun morning with great friends.

Rainbow Invitations - Could find nothing cute to buy.

Rainbow Invitations – Could find nothing cute to buy.

P1080210

Colourful trays with colourful food. The honey junble biscuts with icing on a stick where a hit and of course my all time fav Jelly Slice!

Rainbow Dress and Balloon to play with what more does a 2 year old need?

Rainbow Dress and Balloon to play with what more does a 2 year old need?

Plain vanilla cake with basic icing and sprinkles to form a love heart....anyone can make this cute cake!

Plain vanilla cake with basic icing and sprinkles to form a love heart….anyone can make this cute cake!

Once again I made the invitation in photoshop, had simple decorations such as balloons, streamers and colourful food trays but I struggled to find really cool and different party favours so while guests that year ended up with playdough and the usual cheapo shop items, this party made me decided to source my own items and start Small Favours!

What things do I need to Plan? Start with the easy things like date and time and venue. Then move onto Theme and guest numbers and then that flows onto food, decorations, favour bags and the all important cake! I use a really simple planning sheet to keep track of my plans and you can find it here. I found this online at a website called Childhood 101.

Party Plan

Click on image to go to site to download this easy to use party plan.

You will feel alot better and less stressed when you have a plan no matter how basic or detailed it is. And don’t forget to check out our website Small Favours for more ideas and affordable, easy and unique party items and follow us on Pinterest for even more ideas. Don’t forget we make and sell pre-wrapped pass the parcel, save yourself time and the hassle of doing it yourself. Isabells 3rd birthday is coming up in November so it is time I start planning and I know exactly where I am getting the party decorations from!!!

What do you like to plan before a party??

Leave a Reply

