Homemade Chocolate Yogo?

Today I came across a recipe for Homemade Yogo, something I have always wanted to try as I used to love Yogo as a kid. For those that are not familiar with what Yogo is, it is a mix between yoghurt and custard and is chocolate flavour. I have not bought any for Isabell as trying to make the effort to keep processed foods down to a minimum but thought this might be a good way for her to try it. The recipe was found on the Sinchies website, which sell reusable packaging of which I use but more on that later.

The ingredients were easy and cheap and I already had in the pantry (yes I actually had powdered milk from making some bread) but you could also use fresh milk if you don’t have powdered. More detail in the full recipe below…..

Ingredients

Simple Ingredients

Dump it all in a saucepan

Dump it all in a saucepan

Keep whisking until boiling

Keep whisking until boiling

Let cool and it will thicken and store in fridge

Let cool and it will thicken and store in fridge

Sinchies

I store mine in reusable Sinchies

So the recipe is as follows:

Ingredients

3 cups water

1 cup powdered milk (or 750ml of fresh milk)

2 tablespoons Cocoa

3 tablespoons cornflour

1/4 cup sugar (I used raw)

Directions

Measure all ingredients into a medium sized saucepan and bring to the boil, stiring constantly (I used a whisk to ensure smooth consistancy), you will start to see and feel it thicken and take off heat and cool, then pour into container and seal and put in fridge. Not sure how long it will last but Isabell already has eaten alot of it so doubt it will hang around for long. It tasted really nice and creamy and definately nice and choclatey although probably not the same as store bought yogo but considering it would have a lot more numbered ingredients that are not good for you I am happy with the outcome.

Now onto Sinchies. I came across these a few weeks ago as they are a great little Sunshine Coast business and I was looking for an alternative to the pre bought yogurt satchels as they are about $1.40 each and Isabell on a good day can eat 3! So I thought they looked interesting and were a great idea. I ordered 5 x 140ml bags and waited for the post man. When they were delivered they looked of good quality and loved that they are see thru. I tried storing a homemade fruit slushie to start with and quickly learned not to fill them too full as impossible to close without making a serious mess. You also really need to use a funnel to ensure it all goes into the top easily.  Izzy had a bit of trouble sucking it out from the side as she is used to doing things from the top and lost interest. Cleaning them was also pretty hard and I felt like I could not get into the ends very well but going back to their website there were some good cleaning tips, such as use a bottle brush and dry on the spikes of a dishrack. So today I have tried again and put Yogo into them, going to try Isabell on them tomorrow morning on the way to playgroup. Lets see if she is happy sucking on them in the back of the car and lets see if there is a mess at the end of it!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Chocolate Yogo?

    • Yes when I saw them I thought what a great idea! They might take a bit of getting used to but I think they will be handy and their website have other ideas and uses for them. Very clever. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

